Friends work together to encourage public and private support for the Library and its collections and resources.

The Friends Lounge in the heritage Nan Kivell Room on Level 2 is available exclusively for the enjoyment of Friends Members, and is open whenever the Library is open. We ask that you become familiar with the Code of Conduct for use of the Lounge prior to visiting.

Please note that the Friends Lounge will be temporarily closing from 1 September 2024, for up to one year, due to significant building improvement works taking place in and around the space. Friends can access an increased discount at the Library Bookshop during the closure period. Further details are supplied in your membership sign up or renewal pack.

Friends Members at a White Gloves event

Know your Friends Committee

The 16-member Friends Committee is made up of people with a diverse range of skills and experiences; all passionate about the National Library of Australia and focused towards supporting the activities of the Library and enriching Friends experiences.

What does it do?

The Committee is responsible for managing the affairs of the Friends of the National Library of Australia Association; supporting the Library through community awareness and fundraising; and creating a community for Friends through communications and events. More details are in the Rules of Association and the Friends’ corporate documents.

Who is on the Committee?

There are 12 members elected from Friends nominees, together with the Director-General of the Library, two nominees of the Library and the Friends Executive Officer.

Committee members may serve a maximum four consecutive years, with a minimum one year break between terms.

The 2024 Committee:

Michalina Stawyskyj and Catherine Anderson (Co-Chairs)

Jo Schumann (Treasurer)
Nancy Clarke
Sue Gage
Dr Peggy Horn

Larissa Karpish
Amanda Lynch

Arnis Stonis

Dr Marie-Louise Ayres (Director-General, NLA)
Ben Pratten (Assistant Director, Community Engagement, NLA)
Lauren Conron (Friends Executive Officer, NLA)

The incoming Committee chooses the Chair, Deputy Chair and Treasurer at its first meeting in December, after the AGM.

The sub-committees

There are three active sub-committees, with members of the Committee on one or more sub-committees:

  • Communications and Membership
  • Events
  • Finance

The Communications and Membership sub-committee develops an annual strategy for promoting Friends activities and memberships; support for the Library and membership promotion; publishes a quarterly newsletter; and seeks to utilise social media more effectively.

The Events sub-committee plans and implements Friends-exclusive on-site and online events, in cooperation with the Library, including activities such as exhibition previews, special presentations, curator talks, ‘White Gloves’ viewing of collections items and ‘Meet the Author’.

The Finance sub-committee oversees all financial matters relating to the association, including cash reserves, incoming funds and expenditure.

When do the Committee and the sub-committees meet?

The full Committee meets once every second month during the year and the sub-committees in the intervening months. Meetings are held on-site at the Library, where possible, with Zoom options also available.

Committee members do not have to live in the ACT. The Friends is a national association so members from states and regional areas are welcome on the Committee.

How do you nominate for the Friends Committee?

Nominations from financial members of the Friends are called for each year in the lead up to the Annual General Meeting held in November. Nominations close no later than one calendar month before the AGM. The Committee for the coming year is then elected by Friends members at the AGM.